Astral Weeks – Van Morrison (1968)

AstralWeeksVM

Photo Source: Somewhere off of the Internet

Sometimes, it just hits you. You think: how the hell can music move me in such a profound and exhilarating way? Well lately I’ve found myself exploring and listening to new albums, trying to find one that entirely encapsulates what I’m feeling at this time in my life. Quite frankly, I feel jubilantthat’s really the only word I can think of that accurately conveys what I’m feeling.

As touched upon in my previous post earlier today, I’ve been looking for albums that energize me to the extent that “Astral Weeks” has. A nearly impossible task, that’s for damn sure. In the past week and a half, I haven’t reached my elusive goal, which has turned me off from many rather fine albums. Candidly, however, I’m not looking for fine: I’m looking for something entirely moving and special. And only a handful of albums readily come to mind that qualify: Al Green’s “Call Me”; Van Morrison’s “It’s Too Late to Stop Now Volume 2”; and of course “Astral Weeks”. Now, whereas the first two albums have their moments of absolute brilliance, “Weeks” is entirely intoxicating and brilliant.

“Weeks” is in my mind an undeniable work of art: if I have a soul then this album shakes my soul to its core. It’s just that stellar. Sure, if you read into Morrison’s lyrics head-on, you’ll definitely run into trouble. However, if you let your mind and thoughts wander, “Weeks” will take you to a special, intimate and almost entirely spiritual place. Hence why I appreciate Morrison’s second studio release so much.

Undoubtedly, “Weeks” is without categorization: it’s an incongruous ride, through and through. But what a helluva ride it truly is. To date, my favorite album.

9 thoughts on “Astral Weeks – Van Morrison (1968)

    1. I understand. The live take from 2009 is great! Every song on here does it for me, and “Beside You” is one of my favorites. I know you like “St Dominic’s Preview” and “Into the Music”. I enjoy both quite a bit!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment