The Best of Charley Patton – Charley Patton (2003)

CPatton_Greatest_Hits

Photo Source: Amazon.com

Lately, I’ve been a bit tired of music. Quite frankly, this sentiment has held its sway over me for the last eight weeks or so. Perhaps I’m expecting more from the albums/compilations I have hiding in my digital musical library. This boredom has led me to try and discover new artists and albums I have yet to lay ears upon. So far though, I haven’t had much luck.

In order to shake the boredom and encroaching irritation dwelling within me, I decided to go back to one of my favorite compilations of the last couple of months (none other than a 2003 Charley Patton collection). I discovered Patton about half a year ago; upon hearing his gravelly and emphatic voice and the generally poor sound quality of many of his songs, I was put off. People grow and learn, however; as did I.

This compilation is one of many Patton collections I have in my collection; picking this one was quite arbitrary. Any will do; that is primarily due to Patton’s immense presence in each one of his intricate, lively songs. God damn: this stuff is absolutely stunning!

Rating: 5 Stars (I like this quite a bit! As of writing this, it’s one of the most moving and cathartic collection of songs I’ve yet to come across at this point in my life.)

4 thoughts on “The Best of Charley Patton – Charley Patton (2003)

  1. I lost track of you Zach. Thanks for popping up and reminding me you’re still around. Charlie influenced so many and yeah Im love that original sound. It’s as close to the source as you can get. I just watched a documentary (can’t remember the nameof it) a while ago and Patton was featured..

    Like

Leave a comment