Sound & Color – Alabama Shakes (2015)

Sound_Color_Alabama_Shakes

A striking yet ultimately uneven album that has a certain draw to it. Upon first listen, I was pleasantly surprised to experience how soulful the lead singer truly was. Ms. Howard’s voice carries the entire album and it reminds me heavily of some of my favorite old-school soul singers. That being said, however, with the exception of the terrific and terse “Sound & Color”, I don’t find myself gravitating towards anything else on here. That is not to say that I won’t eventually warm up to this, however.  But with so many albums I feel the need to listen to,  I most likely won’t be returning to this any time soon. It has its moments though, so give it a listen!

Rating: 5 Stars (I enjoy a couple songs off of this quite a bit; and, perhaps the other songs will enliven me. I haven’t given this enough listens yet to truly decide that yet.)

Leave a comment